Looking for good news in a doom and gloom world

Good news?  It’s a commodity in short supply these days. Everywhere one turns there only seems to be doom and gloom.

Unemployment rising, home foreclosures growing, wages going down, businesses on the verge of collapse.  It’s enough to have one to roll up into a fetal position and hide under the bed.  Trust me, I’ve been there, and it’s not a Disney World moment!

I’ve been what I like to call “under employed” for over a year now.  I’ve survived to this point with various freelance opportunities primarily in the motorsports world, which I know well.  However as the monetary crisis grows, that work declines.

Like many that are in similar situations, I keep evaluating what I know, what I can do, and what I need to learn to expand my possibilities of at least paying the bills.  It is from that last area where I find optimism but not completely for me.

You see, the optimism I’m finding is being generated by the young people I’ve been meeting as I network.  The “Millennials” aren’t beaten down by the economy.  They have a can-do and will-do spirit.  They are creating new businesses, new thinking, and a completely new approach to life and work in general.

Being a “glass is half empty” type of guy, I sometimes just chalk up all their enthusiasm to being young and naive, and probably that has some validity.  I just look back to when I was say, oh, 24, and realize just how un-worldly and unknowing of “real life” I was.  (No mortgage, no car payments, and no college tuition to be paid for the kids!)

That said, no one can deny that they are marching forward, fearless in what they believe and most importantly, knowing what they can achieve. I find that invigorating and in many ways helps keep me focused on my own quest to morph myself into the new world reality.

So if you want to get out of the doom and gloom mindset, just look around you.  Open your eyes and your mind and see that the youth of America aren’t the slackers and self-absorbed persons they are so often portrayed by the media.  They are the future and they are building it now.

~ by detroitvoice on February 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Looking for good news in a doom and gloom world”

  1. nice your blog….

  2. I have been underemployed all my life. I finally graduated and I am networking, and refusing to be the way I was. It took me having a hard lesson in life that you need to reach out for your dreams and find a way to make them happen. So I am with you on that and I hate listening to people whine and complain thinking that the world owes them something.

    You create your own life and if you choose to live it then it can be yours no matter what the economy states. Thanks for having a glass half full kind of attitude. It is us, that can make the change, for the better.

Leave a comment